Childhood favorite!


Pineapple Upside Down CakeYou know, some foods have that uncanny power to transport you to a different place or a different time in your life.  I needed an idea for dessert to take to Leslie’s tomorrow – something classic, pretty to look at and over the top yummy.  Several things would fill this bill, but I knew I’d found the perfect recipe when suddenly I had the sensation that I was 12 years old,  sitting patiently at my parents’ dining room table waiting for my serving of Pineapple Upside Down Cake.  I would take tiny little bites to try and make it last.  Mmmmmm mmmmm.

This recipe is my grandmother’s (Paul’s great-grandmother).

Pineapple Upside Down Cake

Preheat oven to 375F.

In well greased ovenproof skillet or 9″ round metal cake pan and line the rim with a narrow strip of parchment paper.  This will allow the cake to be turned out neatly.  Heat on low burner, add the following and stir until the sugar has dissolved:

2 tbsp butter

1 cup brown sugar

Place on top of this in an attractive fashion:

1 can pineapple rings, drained (drink the juice or use in your next stir fry)

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Cake:

2/3 cup butter, softened

3/4 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups flour

1 tbsp baking powder (yes, tablespoon)

3/4 cup milk

Cream butter, sugar, eggs. Sift flour, baking powder and add it alternately with milk to the butter mixture. Beat well and spread over pineapple.

Bake 375F for 40-45 minutes until center springs back to the touch.  If you used a skillet be careful not to grab the handle like I did!  Burned the palm of my hand pretty bad.  Carefully invert onto a flat plate while hot.  Best if baked the day before serving.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s a sure thing!

~FoodMama

4 comments on “Childhood favorite!

  1. I have always wanted to make an upside down cake. But I’m a vegetarian and have never found a good eggless recipe! Meanwhile I’m just going to enjoy looking at your image!! When you have the time do drop by my new space. Would love to hear from you…

  2. I have always loved pineapple upside-down cake. I haven’t had one with walnuts and will give it a try. I know your grandmother’s cake will be delicious. Thanks for sharing her recipe.

  3. Just a followup to my post to say the cake was a huge success at the dinner party except for the fact that the host left all the walnuts in a conspicuous pile on his plate….oops didn’t know about the nut preference. Luckily it wasn’t a nut allergy. Anyway, I plated it with a dollop of whipped cream garnished with a big whole strawberry.

Let us know what you think!

